Home Keynotes Program Registration Hotel Accommodation About Tsukuba Contact Us


                           Call for Papers

    2008 IEEE International Conference on Cluster Computing
                            (Cluster 2008)

                29 September - 1 October 2008

                           Tsukuba, Japan


The recent advances in high speed networks and improved microprocessor performance are making clusters or networks of workstations an appealing vehicle for cost effective parallel computing. Clusters built using commodity hardware and software components are playing a major role in redefining the concept of supercomputing, and has now become the mainstream technology for High Performance Computing and Information Technology.

Cluster 2008 is hosted in the high-tech city of Tsukuba. Here you will experience an open forum with fellow cluster researchers, system designers and installers, and users for presenting and discussing new directions, opportunities and ideas that will shape Cluster Computing. Cluster 2008 welcomes paper and poster submissions on innovative work from researchers in academia, industry and government describing original research work in cluster computing.

The 9th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Grid Computing (Grid 2008 http://www.grid2008.org/) will be held on the same days and location as the Cluster 2008. CFP of Grid 2008 will be available shortly.

Topics of interest are (but not limited to):

  • Cluster Software and Middleware
      - System Tools for "Green" Computing
      - Software Environments and Tools
      - Single-System Image Services
      - Parallel File Systems and I/O Libraries
      - Standard Software for Clusters
      - Cluster Networking
      - High-Speed Interconnects
      - High Performance Message Passing Libraries
      - Lightweight Communication Protocols 
  • Applications
      - Application Methods and Algorithms
      - Adaptation to Multi-Core
      - Data Distribution, Load Balancing & Scaling
      - MPI/OpenMP Hybrid Computing
      - Visualization
  • Performance Analysis and Evaluation
      - Benchmarking & Profiling Tools
      - Performance Prediction & Modeling
  • Cluster Management
      - Virtualization Technology
      - Security and Reliability
      - High Availability Solutions
      - Resource and Job Management
      - Administration and Maintenance Tools
Paper Submission:

Paper Format: Since the camera-ready version of accepted papers must be compliant with the IEEE Xplore format for publication, submitted papers must conform to the following Xplore layout, page limit, and font size. This will insure a size consistency and a uniform layout for the reviewers. (With minimal changes, accepted document can be styled for publication according to Xplore requirements explained in the Xplore formatting guide, which is also in Xplore format).
  • PDF files only.
  • Maximum 10 pages for Technical Papers, maximum 6 pages for Posters.
  • Single-spaced
  • 8.5x11-inch, Two-column numbered pages in IEEE Xplore format
  • Format instructions are available at:
  • Concerning the final camera-ready version: Maximum of 2 extra pages at $100/page. Camera-ready means PDF file must comply with IEEE Xplore formatting and style for publication.
  • Electronic Submission: Only web-based submission is accepted. The URL will be announced on the Cluster 2008 web page.
Call for Workshop Proposals:

Workshop proposals are closed.

Important Dates:

  Workshop proposals: 29 Feb 2008
  Workshop notification: 31 Mar 2008
  Technical paper submissions: 27 Apr 2008 (Extended) 11:59 pm (AOE, GMT-12)
  Technical paper notification: 16 Jun 2008 (Extended)
  Poster submissions: 22 Jul 2008 11:59 pm (AOE, GMT-12)
  Poster notification: 10 Aug 2008

Conference Organizing Chairs and Committees:

  General Chair
    Yutaka Ishikawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
  General Vice Chair
    Hiroshi Nakashima, Kyoto University, Japan
  Program Chair
    Mitsuhisa Sato, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  Workshop Chair
    Taisuke Boku, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  Poster Chair
    Takeshi Iwashita, Kyoto University, Japan
  International Relation Chair
    Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  Publicity Chair
    Takahiro Katagiri, University of Tokyo, Japan
  Finance Chair and Conference Secretary
    Osamu Tatebe, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  Local Arrangements Chair
    Daisuke Takahashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Steering Committee Members:

  Mark Baker, University of Reading, UK
  Daniel S. Katz, LSU, USA
  William Gropp, Argonne National Lab, USA
  Thomas Sterling, LSU, USA
  Thomas Stricker, Google, Switzerland
  Wolfgang Rehm, Chemnitz University, Germany
  Cho-Li Wang, HK University, Hong Kong
  Toni Cortes, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  Kurt Keville, MIT, USA
  Henri Casanova, The University of Hawaii, USA
  Pete Beckman, Argonne National Lab, USA
  Al Geist, Oak Ridge National Lab, USA
  Rajkumar Buyya, Melbourne University, Australia
  Greg Pfister, IBM, USA
  Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, USA
  Dan Reed, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
  Giovanni Chiola, University of Genova, Italy
  William Camp, Sandia National Lab, USA
  Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA
  Rusty Lusk, Argonne National Lab, USA
  Rick Stevens, Argonne National Lab, USA
  Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  Francis Lau, HK University, Hong Kong

Program Committee Members:

  David Abramson, Monash University, Australia
  Gabriel Antoniu, IRISA/INRIA, France
  Mutsumi Aoyagi, Kyushu University, Japan
  Mark Baker, University of Reading, UK
  Franck Cappello, INRIA, France
  Toni Cottes, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  Renato Figueiredo, University of Florida, USA
  Markus Fischer, HPC Cluster Solutions, Germany
  Erich Focht, NEC Deutschland, Germany
  Al Geist, Oak Ridge National Lab, USA
  Patrick Geoffray, Myricom, USA
  Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  Daniel S. Katz, LSU, USA
  Mason J. Katz, SDSC, USA
  Rainer Keller, HLRS, Germany
  Thilo Kielmann, Vrije Universiteit, Netherlands
  Yuesu Kodama, AIST, Japan
  Box Leangsuksun, Louisiana Tech University, USA
  Sik Lee, KISTI, Korea
  Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  Tommy Minyard, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  Matthias Mueller, TU Dresden, Germany
  Kengo Nakajima, University of Tokyo, Japan
  Hiroshi Nakashima, Kyoto University, Japan
  Raymond Namyst, LaBRI/CNRS, France
  Dhabaleswar K. Panda, Ohio State University, USA
  Philip Papadopoulos, SDSC, USA
  Serge Petiton, LIFL/CNRS, France
  Padma Raghavan, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  Alistair Rendell, ANU, Australia
  Masaaki Shimizu, Hitachi, Japan
  Jaffrey Squyres, Cisco, USA
  Rick Stevens, Argonne National Lab, USA
  Heinz Stockinger, Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Switzerland
  Reiji Suda, University of Tokyo, Japan
  Shinji Sumimoto, Fujitsu Laboratories, Japan
  Lee Bu Sung, Francis, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  Kenjiro Taura, University of Tokyo, Japan
  Putchong Uthayopas, Thai National Grid Center, Thailand
  Heon Young Yeom, Seoul National University, Korea